OUR LADY OF THE ROCKS - THE JEWEL OF BOKA KOTORSKA
During the winter, it is protected from the northern winds, turned towards the sun and the sea, while a comfortable breeze from Verige helps cool down the town during the heat of the summer. Two picturesque islets stand guard before it. The natural islet of St. George houses a 17th century church of the same name, as well as the Perast cemetery, dating from 1886, and an ancient Benedictine abbey, from the 12th century. This secretive islet, over-grown with dense vegetation and slender cypress trees could have, perhaps, served as the inspiration for the painting The Island of the Dead by Swiss painter Böcklin. Not far away from it, lies the man-made islet, Out Lady of the Rocks, with a sailors' votive shrine by the same name. The islet was built by constant heaping up of stones that started in the middle of the 15th century, on the 22nd of July, 1452, to be more exact, and has been going on, to some extent, to this day. The islet covers an area of 3030 m2.